Luke 12:48

5 Jun

….. ” When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.”

Funny how when God is teaching you something… it just keeps coming up… over & over in a relatively short period of time. This particular lesson has challenged me many times in several different areas over the last month.

I randomly heard Tracy Chapman’s ‘Fast Car’ the other day. It’s been a while since I’ve heard a song that triggered a memory. For a brief moment, I remembered listening to that song as a pre-teen… feeling like I related to the lyrics so much (most of them, anyway). At an early age, I knew I wanted more. I wanted someone to rescue me & take me out of a simple town, a simple life, a simple mind. At 19, with no car & no real plans, I moved to a new city. 70 miles isn’t far, but it was an eternity away from everything I knew. I was suddenly in an environment that required more ambition, more education, more wit, real goals… & I felt motivated to engage my own desires for “more”. I started to see my vision of being more than what I was born into, as a reality. [Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the humility & simplicity of my family. I am grateful for that being my beginning. I don’t know that I would possess those things if I weren’t raised in them.] Understand that these “goals”, this ” ambition” for me, is quite different from those of the people around me. It wasn’t the goal of success in a career… but the drive to be more as a person, know more, have more passion, read more, expect more (from myself, from a spouse, from every day life). This was born inside of me apparently, since I can remember feeling this way before I even knew what that looked like or how it was defined as I do now.

Which brings me to 2007. I was moved by the Holy Spirit & accepted Christ into my heart. My whole life changed. All of that motivation, ambition, goals, passion was focused on Him… this life. I love reflection. Without quiet reflections, it’s impossible to see how God PERFECTLY orchestrated everything in your life. Everything came at exactly the right time… every lesson, every decision made, every move, every trial, every word given from Him, every placement, every person, everything! It was all put in place to build something, to strengthen, to prepare, to mature…

Over the last few years, I have learned so much about so many different things. God has taught me so much & led me to so much knowledge. As I reflect on what I’ve learned in such a short amount of time in my adult life, I am so grateful (Hosea 4:6). That being said…. God has been impressing Luke 12:48 on me lately. No excuses. No excuses not to eat the right foods & avoid toxins, no excuses not to be a conqueror, no excuses not to read one more book this year, no excuses not to excercise, no excuses not to raise my children REALLY experiencing God daily, no excuses not to be a blessing, no excuses not to serve my husband, no excuses not to homeschool, no excuses not to tithe, no excuses not to live life with direct purpose, no excuses not to pursue God with a reckless abandon… because, to whom much is given, much is expected……..  Maybe being simple-minded isn’t so bad. haha.

Leave a Reply

