How’d That Get There?

18 Jun

In my Bible is all kinds of… well… stuff. Reading guides, important notes I’ve joted down, a list of certain people that I pray for slavation for daily, etc. Still, I pretty much know what is in there at all times. The smallest, but most amazing thing appeared in my Bible the other day. The odd thing about it is that, I have NO idea where it came from or who gave it to me & it looks as though it’s been hanging around in there for some time now. It’s a typed prayer. & it might just be one of the most perfect prayers I’ve ever read. No it doesn’t cover everything that I pray for, but it’s a great prayer in a broad spectrum. I’m so in love with it & so in tune with every single word, that as tacky as this may seem, I have tacked this piece of paper on the wall beside my bed… so that every single morning, as my feet hit the floor, I can look directly at this paper & pray this prayer before I do anything else. I wanted to share it with everyone for 2 reasons, #1- I think it’s one of the most amazing prayers I’ve ever heard & I’m not sure if that is because it is the prayer of my heart individually or if it is relatively astounding to all Believers. & #2- I’m curious if someone will read this & reveal that they are the person that either stuck this in my Bible or handed this to me without me knowing what it was. So here it is…  I hope this blesses someone & they find the Holy Spirit drawing them to pray this daily with me:

Dear Lord, I thank You for this day, I thank You for my being able to see & to hear this morning. I’m blessed because You are a forgiving God & an understanding God. You have done so much for me & You keep on blessing me. Forgive me this day for everything I have done, said or thought that was not pleasing to you. I ask now for Your forgiveness.

Please keep me safe from all danger & harm. Help me to start this day with a new attitude & plenty of gratitude. Let me make the best of each & every day to clear my mind so that I can hear from You. Please broaden my mind that I can accept all things. Let me not whine & whimper over things I have no control over. And give the best response when I’m pushed beyond my limits. I know that when I can’t pray, You listen to my heart.

Continue to use me to do Your will. Continue to bless me that I may be a blessing to others. Keep me strong that I may help the weak… Keep me uplifted that I may have words of encouragement for others. I pray for those that are lost & can’t find their way. I pray for those that are misjudged & misunderstood. I pray for those who don’t know You intimately. I pray for those that don’t believe. But I thank you that I believe that God changes people & God changes things. I pray for all my sisters & brothers. For each & every family member in their households. I pray for peace, love, & joy in their homes… that they are out of debt & all of their needs are met. I pray that every eye that reads this knows there is no problem, circumstance, or situation greater than God. Every battle is in Your hands for You to fight. I pray that these words be received into the hearts of every eye that sees it.

In Jesus Mighty name, Amen.

3 Responses to “How’d That Get There?”

  1. Theresa S. June 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    I don’t think taping it up is tacky at all! I secretly have one on my bathroom mirror 🙂

  2. vanessathompson June 19, 2009 at 4:29 am #

    …. so someone stuck it in your bible too? or am I just going crazy?! I shouldn’t be too worried about how it got there… it is a huge blessing for my prayer life.

  3. Theresa S. June 19, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    lol, no – it’s actually a different prayer I have taped to my mirror…I was just saying I have a prayer card taped up as well. Maybe whoever stuck it in your Bible will reveal their secret identity though 🙂

Leave a Reply

