Welcome To Our Life….

15 May

To give the blog world a small (VERY small) glipse into our day to day lives, I have posted some pictures from our home. You see… you know that someone has cancer, & no doubt you know that it’s terrible, but can you really comprehend what their lives are like from day to day? This is in no way a search for sympathy, this is just a tool of education for people who aren’t directly involved (such as a parent or caregiver) with leukemia/cancer patients.

 THIS IS THE ENORMOUS DRY-ERASE BOARD THAT IS MOUNTED IN OUR KITCHEN TO KEEP TRACK OF IMPORTANT INFO FOR KEELY’S TREATMENT

017

THESE ARE THE LIST OF MEDICATIONS WE HAVE TO GIVE HER DAILY. THURSDAY IS ONE OF THE LIGHTER DAYS, SO SOME OF THE MEDS (LIKE ALL OF THE ONES SHE TAKES ON MON-WED) AREN’T LISTED HERE.

018

ALTHOUGHT YOU CAN’T SEE IT VERY WELL, THIS IS KEELY’S CALENDAR (OR “ROADMAP”) THAT WE GET EACH MONTH THAT TELLS US WHAT PROCEDURES SHE GETS IN CLINIC, WHAT CHEMO’S SHE IS TO BE RECEIVING & HOW OFTEN, WHEN SHE WILL MOST LIKEY HAVE TO RECEIVE BLOOD TRANSFUSIONS, ETC. ALL OF THE CHEMO DRUGS AREN’T GIVEN IN THEIR FULL NAME, SO THAT’S WHY YOU SEE CAPTIALIZED LETTERS SUCH AS “AC”, 6MP”, ETC.

021

THESE ARE SOME OF KEELYS DAILY MEDS. SOME ARE ACTUAL CHEMO & CAN BE TOXIC IF NOT HANDLE PROPERLY.

024

NO ONE SHOULD HAVE ONE OF THESE SITTING IN THEIR KITCHEN. IT’S JUST PLAIN UNNATURAL!

023

THIS IS THE “IV KIT”. THESE ARE THE SALINE, ARA-C (CHEMO), & HEPARIN SYRINGES THAT WE HAVE TO ADMINISTER THROUGH HER CENTRAL LINE WHEN SHE REQUIRES IV MEDS FOR DAYS AT A TIME. THE LITTLE GREEN THING IS THE NEEDLE WE HAVE TO USE TO ACCESSS HER PORT.

025

… AND LASTLY… HERE WE ARE ADMINISTERING HER CHEMO BEFORE BED.

028  034

AND THESE ARE ONLY THE THINGS DONE AT HOME! THIS DOESN’T INCLUDE ANY CLINIC VISITS OR HOSPITAL STAYS!!

5 Responses to “Welcome To Our Life….”

  1. jasmin Kelly May 15, 2009 at 5:14 pm #

    no words just wow!!!

  2. Jessica Jesse May 15, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    My heart goes out to you as well as my continued prayers

  3. pam cole May 15, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    Gosh girl! I definitly did not realize how many diff meds you have to give her @ home.

  4. Jaime May 16, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    I hurt me to see all her medications that she has to take. I to know what your going through, just not with chemo. Andrew was the same way and through time he has greatly gotten better. I know that one day she will be off all these meds and you will look back and say to yourself, “how did we make it through this time in our lives” I do that all the time. Treasure each and every moment that you have with all your children because you never know what might happen. Keeping you and your family in our thoughts and prayers.

  5. Sarah Fischel (Gregory) May 20, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    Hey girl, I know I’ve commented on your facebook about this before but I just wanted to tell you that I live in the Raleigh area now and if you need anything like help with house cleaning or taking Cale to the park or something just let me know I’d be happy to do it! Probably more like helping you clean the house or something (since I haven’t seen you in years I wouldn’t really expect that you would trust me with your children, ha!) Seriously if you need anything let me know! I hope things start to improve soon. You’re in my thoughts and prayers. GOD bless!

    Sarah
    919 273 1675

Leave a Reply

