It’s Okay To Be Random Sometimes

7 Jan

This morning I was watching the show “The Doctors” as I cleaned up from breakfast. One of the topics was a new technology called, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis or “designer babies”. This technology (which will be available all over the country starting this month), allows you to pick the sex of your baby, the eye color, the hair color, etc. The country (especially the science/medical field) is really falling away from God. In fact, I think that they think so highly of science & technology that they sometimes feel superior to God. I mean, seriously… how can anyone be okay with this? This is basic, “this just isn’t natural” kind of stuff & these people have no problems with it whatsoever. It’s like the thought of God being our Creator & the decider of our individuality when we are conceived never crosses people’s mind! Scary. I would be scared to know how my child would (in a sense) be cursed by my decision to overrule God’s. The ONLY unselfish benefit to this technology is that they can predict the embryo that is 90% less likely to have any genetic disorders that you or your husband may carry. Still… sounds to me like people are using this technology for the wrong reason… the doctor who discovered this was more interested in presenting the fact that you can choose the sex than any health issues that may be beneficial.

My children have recently started to display some minor ‘sibiling rivalry’… which is obviously healthy & expected. I have decided that in order to hopefully create conflict resolution skills between each other & with others in life, I think it may be healthy to let them resolve their own disagreements, as long as the situation doesn’t warrant parental intervention. What do you think? Good or bad theory/technique?

I think I have officially hit the ‘nesting phase’… although it seems kinda early. We completely rearrange the house in order to prepare for the baby, I went through all of Cale’s baby clothes in the attack to get them ready for the new baby, I scrubbed out the refrigerator, & all of the base boards in my house are spotless. That’s just a few of the things I’ve managed to tackle to ease my anxiety. I’m such a neat-freak anyway… & pregnancy only exacerbates that issue.

In the last few months, at least a couple of times a week, Keely has started to reveal to me these very elaborate & vivid dreams she’s been having over breakfast. I realize that she is very comprehensive, but is that not wild? She gives me intricate details & is very aware that it was all a dream. She’s not a kid that every really makes up stories or tells us crazy things that don’t/haven’t happened, so I’m sure that she really did dream these things & wants to share.

6 Responses to “It’s Okay To Be Random Sometimes”

  1. Justin January 8, 2009 at 4:17 am #

    re: “I think that they think so highly of science & technology that they sometimes feel superior to God.”

    Most of the people that put that much stock in science, are the ones that believe in evolution, and either don’t believe in the existence of God or choose to ignore it. People have long wanted control over the “outcome” (for lack of a better word) of their children. That’s why people like Margaret Sanger (the founder of Planned Parenthood) were pro-abortion, to be able to have more control on which babies popped out.

  2. vanessathompson January 8, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    you’re exactly right Justin. Still… I was giving this whole issue some pensive thought (& I should’ve included this into the blog), but even before I was a Believer (I was an agnostic, not an atheist), something like this would have STILL triggered an uneasy, “something isn’t right about this” response in my brain, ya know?! So, even before I had invited Jesus into my heart, I still possessed some sort innate, just plain human, response.

    Brian brought up a good point in our discussion about this also… they fertilize & test several embryos in order to produce, one with blue eyes, a boy, a girl, etc. So in essence, by picking the one to embed into the uterus, they are performing abortion by killing the leftover embryos.

  3. Justin January 8, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    I’ve definitely seen people that whether they’re believers or not, don’t agree with “made to order” babies. I think it has to do with the fact that humans are imprinted with a certain level of respect for “a higher power” even if we choose to deny the existence of one, or choose the wrong one to worship.

    That’s also true what Brian said about the embryos, but at this point it would be hard to get people to not do that. If you were to tell them they couldn’t produce those test embryos, you’d have to stop embryonic stem cell research (which is currently allowed though not federally funded) and then you’d have to stop all abortions. All of which I would like to see happen, but it would be a long process to do that. Just like its hard to get the fetal homicide laws passed (that consider killing a pregnant woman a double homicide) because it hurts the pro-abortion case.

  4. jasmin kelly January 9, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    sheesh, what did you do. Post your blog on every thought on your mind lol. Talking about being random lol.
    Well, as far as the technology. – People are trying to play God – its sad. Even if it tells you the genetic defects – what are you going to do if you find something wrong? Abort it? Hey, that’s another thing. So… I don’t see the benefit but then I realize that God had us in mind bf the womb.

    I think that we can’t run to the kids every aid – to some degree they need to duke it out on their own lol. I mean then they will never learn. If they start hitting and they both got their turn to hit I will either put them both in time out or give them both the same lecture. One is not going to escape the teaching. But I think letting them try to resolve some of it on their own is healthy. You are not always going to be around so what happens between them when you are not if you always resolve everything for them?

    I went through the nesting phase a few times during this pregnancy. As a matter of fact just yesterday I rearranged bells room solo. lol

  5. kellycrew January 13, 2009 at 3:04 am #

    I hope we are right, because we do let Bells and Luca get into it here and there. If we are wrong, we find out in another 10-15 years on how they turn out 🙂

    As for the genetics thing…people are so blinded, it is scary. I know business ethics is such a gray area, I could only imagine how the science, health, and technologies sectors ‘toy’ with this. Such a great reason for Christians to rise up and become successful in careers across the board. We need to be in positions of influence to make a difference and keep ethics at the forefront.

  6. vanessathompson January 13, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    you’re right Robert. & what’s sad is that the medical field is one of the only professions that I know of that takes a vow of ethics!!

Leave a Reply

