Babies=$$… part 2

4 Jan

I just thought that I would share with the world, a testimony of God’s provision.

Yesterday I wrote a blog with all of the ‘baby expenses’ & how we needed so much this time around. In a single day, God started pouring out blessings on us. I had stashed away our ‘baby fund’ inside of my bible (what better place for it to be, right?). I knew that God would multiply our storehouse, but He really came through this time. I opened my bible & counted the money… we had enough to purchase our biggest item… the stroller (I seriously had no idea that we had saved that much). wow! We decided that we would go ahead & make that purchase… that way it would be out of the way & taken care of. The plan was to go today to make the purchase. Jasmin called this morning asking if we could use a $20 coupon on a travel system at BabiesRus, since she didn’t need it. So we saved $20. God used her to bless us. Thank you Kelly family!

With the largest item out of the way, we have only the swing (which we have a $50 gift card toward), the car seat (which one of our parents has offered to purchase), & all of the little odds & ends. Since we have all of the big stuff pretty much taken care of, we can slowly start working on buying small things along the way… bottles, burp cloths, etc.

A friend from church offered to hand down some of her baby stuff that she is getting rid of. Thank you Laura. 

In just a day, God used many people to bless us. Funny how Pastor Steve just taught on how God uses people to bless us, so we should foster our relationships & not avoid them. So true!

I knew God would provide… there wasn’t a doubt in my mind. It’s liberating to know that as long as I’m serving Him, He is providing for me.

I don’t believe that simply by tithing you can make up for disobedience to God, having a relationship with Him, or having a wicked heart, but since I do believe the bible in it’s entirety

Malachi 3:10 – Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.

2 Responses to “Babies=$$… part 2”

  1. Agape January 4, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    Vanessa,
    You truly are amazing and you’re such a great example in my life! I am in the same boat-Justin and I are 8 weeks along and I’m completely leaving everything up to God. There are huge things that He’s doing for us and each day you have to recognize the “small” things that he’s done (i.e. those coupons, the 10% off, etc.) because they all add up! I’m excited to see the next Thompson!
    God Bless!
    Alli

  2. vanessathompson January 5, 2009 at 2:44 am #

    So ironic… As we were sitting beside you guys on Sat., I was looking at you & Justin during the offering thinking, “wonder when they’ll decide to have a baby? They sure would be a good couple to welcome a baby.”

    Congrats!! I’m super excited for you & Justin! God will provide big ways & little ways for everything to work out for your good… but you already know that.

Leave a Reply

