Babies=$$

3 Jan

dev124pb___

With the holidays  left to history… it’s time to get back to our next point of focus… adding another life into the Thompson home.

We have come to realize that we have a lot more to purchase for this baby than we did for Cale. bummer. We are going to need a double stroller this time, since Cale won’t be independent enough to just walk with us. $230 for this thing. I bout peed my pants. & since we donated ALL of our big baby stuff, we’ll need the infant car seat to go with the stroller… $140. cha-ching. Then there’s the swing… $150. & all of the little things… bottles, burp clothes, crib sheets, monitor, etc.  I feel like I’m starting all over again. Good thing we have piles of boy clothes, blankets, the baby jumper, the travel yard, toys coming out of our keesters, crib & crib mattress. 

We’ve been able to save up a little “baby fund” & our parents are offering to help purchase the big things. oh… & praise the Lord for tax refunds. Babies are friggin expensive. It’s no wonder we thought we would stop at 2. God WILL provide, though… He ALWAYS does.

Now that I’ve posted a blog full of stress & complaints (lucky I left the pregnancy complaints out this time), I feel all better. Truth is, even though I’m not looking forward to dishing out all of the money it takes to welcome the baby into the world, going to BabiesRus today & looking was really exciting! I can’t wait to bring the little booger home! Mr. Finley Stone Thompson. If we make it to the C-section date (which has yet to happen), we have less than 16 weeks to meet him.

5 Responses to “Babies=$$”

  1. Casie January 3, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    I can’t believe how expensive that stuff is. I really want a baby #2 but finance wise sometimes wonder if we can afford it??? I am sure everything will work out and I usually feel better after I vent so vent on girlie…..Only 16 more weeks, WOW! You have only been pg for like 3 months…LOL!

  2. Laura Doyle January 3, 2009 at 7:33 pm #

    Hey Vanessa! We are cleaning house and are getting ready to get rid of a bunch of our baby “stuff”. I would be more than willing to pass it on if you are interested!

  3. vanessathompson January 4, 2009 at 2:48 am #

    yes Laura! I wouldn’t definitely be gracious of your blessing! praise God for church family.

  4. vanessathompson January 4, 2009 at 3:52 am #

    Casie, don’t worry about finances… if you keep worrying about that, you’ll never feel ‘ready’. Be more worried about the stress of 2 as opposed to 1. 1 child is a change of lifestyle… 2 children (close in age), is never sitting down before 9 pm. God will provide for you & a new addition if you trust Him. He will also give you the strength & sanity to handle another child, with grace & with a serving heart. I’ve made tremendous strides as a mother since adding Cale.

  5. Amber January 19, 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Hi Vanessa, even though I was rummaging through random blogs, I was definetly led to yur blog by God. I recently discovered that my husband and I are going to have a baby. It is not an unwelcome pregnancy but def. caught us off gaurd. It is so hard to not stress over finances, and such knowing that we will be welcoming a baby into the world. It is so scary! But reading your blog def. gave me hope and reminded me that God will definetly provide. Thanks for the encouragment….
    Amber 🙂

Leave a Reply

