Adios ’08… Ni Hao ’09

29 Dec

So we’re moving into a new year. This seems to bring a time of reflection for many people… definitely for me. I like to look back & see where I’ve grown, mistakes I’ve made, challenges I’ve conquered, etc. This past year was monumental for me. I’ve probably changed & grown more than any other time in my life. I invited Jesus into my life in Sept of ’07 & I started to see his real works in my life throughout ’08. By the glorious grace of God, I have learned so much, felt the power of God within me that I never knew was there, & realized how helpless & broken I was in the years without Him.

This year….

* I learned that in every circumstance & in every season… if you truly trust in God to hold the reigns, His works are always for our eternal good. Sometimes ‘unfair’ circumstances are the only way for us to really know our strengths through Christ, sometimes they are the only way we will turn inward & see what we need to change about ourselves, sometimes He simply wants us to lean on Him rather than ourselves, & sometimes they are put in place simply for a domino effect in another area of our lives that may have nothing to do with the circumstance itself. John 11:40 Then Jesus said, “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?”

* I learned that sometimes, God will use extreme measures to get His people back on His path. This is a personal, intimate, & life changing experience, so I’ll keep the details of this ‘lesson learned’ to myself. Just know that my eyes have been opened to recognizing when God is working in my life… even if it is a work that may not be what I want at the time… it saved my soul & forced me to redirect & refocus. & for that… my gratitude, my faith, & my love for Him was increased more in a moment than in a full year of everything else He did!  Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight              

* I learned that there is no relationship more valuable than the one I share with Christ & my husband! They come before everything else! & if I nurture them & put them first… the rest of my life seems to fall right into place. There is no room for neglect & not a moment that these 2 relationships can be taken for granted. Gen 2:24 – For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.

* I learned that I actually like getting older. As much as I miss childhood & the ‘carefree’ attitude, it’s nice to know that with maturity comes peace, understanding, knowledge, wisdom, & a better me. Thank God this process never stops! Job 12:12 – Is not wisdom found among the aged? Does not long life bring understanding?

* I learned that no matter how attached you are, or how much time you’ve vested, some relationships & some people are toxic & have to be set free. It is close to impossible to grow in Christ & to avoid displaying toxic behavior while continuing relationships with people who possess these characteristics… just as it is close to impossible to stay stagnate while being surrounded by positive & godly relationships. It is proven, scientifically that we mimic the behavior of the company we keep. If you want to keep moving forward, bettering yourself, & striving to become what God has called you to be, you have to be in the company of people with this same agenda. 1 Corinthians 15:33 – Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.”          Proverbs 13:20 – Walk with the wise and become wise; associate with fools and get in trouble.

* Most of all… I learned that the peace that comes from the Lord is the greatest feeling in all the world. I learned how to obtain that peace. Things that used to plague my spirit before slowly dissipated once I started to fellowship with God & started learning & reading the Word of God. John 14:27 – Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

4 Responses to “Adios ’08… Ni Hao ’09”

  1. iheartkiserboston December 29, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    I am so glad we are friends! It’s been about 5 years since our friendship began (all thanks to Keely!) and even though we are miles apart, I feel like our hearts are closer than they have ever been. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and may 2009 been fantastic for you and yours!

  2. vanessathompson December 29, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    You’re so right… our hearts ARE closer than ever!

    I am still thankful for your place in our conceiving Keely. I believe that if it weren’t for your prayers, she may not have happened. I think of that often!

  3. nikki December 30, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    Hey ‘Nessa. As always, your words inspire and uplift me. I’m getting better every day in my life as a Christian and getting closer to God all the time and I so enjoy gaining insights and encouragement from fellow Christians. I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, you really have a way w/ words and I def. think God is using you and this “blogging” arena to get through to other people. I know I always look forward to what you have to say about what you’re learning and growing in your relationship w/ God. I want so much to continue on this path and help lead others the same way, esp. my family. I realize now more than ever that as mothers, that is our greatest responsibility–to teach righteousness to our children so they can know the right way to live and right God to serve. Just wanted to let you know, even though it’s been forever since we’ve seen each other in person or talked, I really appreciate your words and continue to be proud of the improvements in your life. God bless you and your family in the coming new year! xoxoxox

  4. vanessathompson January 2, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    thank you so much Nikki! I’m glad I can touch anyone’s life, but know that by taking the time to write these words to me…. you have uplifted & touched mine!!

Leave a Reply

