Again With This Decision?!

18 Dec

Brian & I decided that we aren’t really sold on the name we had picked out for a baby boy (of course, we looooved the name we picked for a girl. arg.). Soooo… here we are again… at odds with one another about naming our child. This seems to be one of our most ongoing disagreements in the history of our marriage. I prepare for the resistance to one another’s ‘likes’ & ‘dislikes’ at the beginning of every pregnancy. Kinda makes me realize how beautiful it is that we get along so well, since something as small as this is evident of how different we are.

So, I’m asking for some outside opinions…

*What do you think of Finley/Fin?                                                                                                                                                                   

(don’t be mad Lori… I seriously forgot you almost named Boston that until just a few hours ago.)

10 Responses to “Again With This Decision?!”

  1. Justin December 18, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    I like the meaning (warrior), for sure. I don’t see much down side in the way of kid getting made fun of for that name, which is always something I think about with a kids name. What are kids gonna do, call him Finally, or Finely…big deal. If you guys both like the sounds of it, go for it, but bear in mind that “Fin” in French means “End”. So you may want to stick to calling him Finley.

  2. vanessathompson December 18, 2008 at 4:54 pm #

    thanks for this. I looked up the meaning & all I got was “yellow”. Not sure what’s up with that. I like it even more knowing that it means “warrior”. That might just be my selling point for Brian!

    & just for the record (& this is just for humor)… I don’t mind so much that Fin means “end”, because unless the Lord decides to by-pass my tubes in order to impregnate my womb, this is “the end” of our journey in the reproductive department.

  3. lnfritzky December 18, 2008 at 5:05 pm #

    HAHA, Vanessa! thats exactly what i thought when i saw what justin wrote about fin meaning ‘end’ — there are quite a few parents, it seems, who are on to their THIRD(thank God for PEACE!) so yes, END! lolol =D

    but about the name,… 1) i think ‘finley’ sounds much cooler shortened as ‘fin’ — it makes it seem more casual and, like it flows. i like flow-y names fin thompson… 2) it is very unique, which is cool. props to “finley” 3) warrior. i like that too 🙂

  4. B. December 18, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    Aight…Aight…you had me sold at “warrior”… then “end” sealed it!!! I’ll leave it in your court, but you got me on board if thats the one you want!!

  5. Justin December 18, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    Well, it looks settled, glad I could be of assistance. haha.

  6. Jennifer Tobler December 18, 2008 at 7:23 pm #

    I like it. Finley Thompson, sounds like a famous writer. My only reservation is that it doesn’t “match” the K theme you already have going! You guys are so cool with your names…

  7. Tabitha December 19, 2008 at 4:04 am #

    I LOVE it! It’s perfect! Yep. Keely, Kale, and Finley. Cute. Cute. Cute!

  8. singintherain December 19, 2008 at 7:29 pm #

    awww I wasent sold on it until you put it with your last name, then is sounds really nice. It would have been really cool to have the “k” sound with all 3 tho. either way I like the meaning, I think that is really important. Good luck!!

  9. iheartkiserboston December 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm #

    Why would I be mad? We decided that if we have another boy…i said if…we want to name him Bauer. (It’s after hockey equipment…go figure and sounds like…take a “bow” er). Just look and Keely and Kale and see if they look like a “Fin” b/c chances are, he will look like them…or like Kale. Go for it girl. Whatever you like. You know if he feels like a Fin…Boston never felt like a Fin to us that is why we could never make the decision to call him that. He was way to rambunctious and crazy in my belly to be called “Fin”. Fin seemed preppy and button down shirtish. I still really like the name though!

  10. Jen Jump December 21, 2008 at 3:23 pm #

    I love Fin! I really like it with 2 ns..Finn looks less like a fish fin and is still ultra cool. I actually thought about this name but Colin was not into it at all…if ours is a boy, we are going with Cooper.

Leave a Reply

