The REAL Adventures Of Motherhood

16 Dec

This afternoon… following our usual routine, I put Keely in the bath soon after lunch. Cale likes to go in & out of the bathroom… stealing toys & walking away (knowing she can’t chase him) & allowing Keely to make him a part of her ‘bath play’ (as if he knows what she’s saying).

The phone rings & I leave the bathroom to answer it. When I came back (literally seconds later), Cale was standing in the bath, fully clothed, having what seemed to be the time of his life. I guess being in Keely’s bath as opposed to his own… & fully clothed, is much more exciting than his usual bath routine.

dsc07592

 Brian & I had a little laugh (it was him that called), & I decided “what the heck… I’ll let him splash around for a while… I mean, he’s already drenched.” After about 15-20 minutes, it was time to get washed up. I decided to go ahead & bathe Cale since he was already in the tub. & here is where the unexpected joys of parenthood slap me in the face…

I remove his soaked clothing… wring them out, then move on to the diaper removal. Turns out, while he was splashing around, he found it a golden opportunity to take a poop… a very runny poop. It couldn’t have been a solid poop… no, no… then the event wouldn’t have been near as interesting. Me, unaware of this, remove his diaper as he is halfway submerged in the water. Little flakes of poop leave the diaper & make their way around the tub. Mind you, I had decided to wash Keely after Cale, so she is freaking out at this point that she is trapped in “poo water”. I scrambled to dispose of the diaper properly, let out the water, get Cale washed, halfway clean the tub, run new water, & finally, get Keely bathed.

I was super proud of my response. *yes, I’m patting myself on the back for this one*. Instead of being irritated & cranky, I just took it in stride, knowing that it would make the story of Cale jumping in the tub even funnier when I told it to Brian over dinner later. That’s the thing about being a mom… one day you have to realize that these moments are always going to present themselves… it’s inevitable… it’s how you choose to react that determines if it ruins your day. God is really working on me in the patience & ‘sunny side’ department.

Brian could never do what I do every day. He better be glad that he’s… #1 aware of it & #2 extremely appreciative of me raising his children. It makes it okay for me to tell him the story & for him to laugh at it.

6 Responses to “The REAL Adventures Of Motherhood”

  1. kellycrew December 16, 2008 at 2:27 am #

    This is hilarious! Love it.

    Yeah, these kind of moments are frustrating and getting to a point where you don’t freakout takes some serious work. The best part will be telling Cale’s girlfriend!

    Jas and I like to think of these moments and remind ourselves that number 3 is on the way…I can see more stories like this in the future.

  2. Aunt Melanie December 16, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    Venessa you are so cute! I wish I could have seen your face when you first realzed what was going on. With Kayla being an only child i missed out on all the cute stuff like that 😦 Wait it go for handling yourself with grace.

    Thanks for the laugh this morning I need it!!

    Love ya

  3. vanessathompson December 16, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    glad I could make you smile Melanie 🙂

  4. Tabitha December 16, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    This is great! I remember bathing one of my sisters kids and they pooped in the bath. They freaked out because they’d never seen it before. They were screaming and scared of the brown monster in their bath water! Scarlet hasn’t done this…. yet!

  5. singintherain December 16, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    teehee makes for a fun visual. I can just about about imagine Keely too…lol…you are superwoman!

  6. jasmin kelly December 17, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    Well, its funny cuase you’ve got the keely freakin about the poop but lucas freaks out about the throw up in the bath when bells does it. I should share some funny stories about that. Funny but disgusting lol. oh by the way – I’ve seen my share of poop in the tub before lol

Leave a Reply

