A Day Of Rest & Pensive Thought

10 Nov

Yesterday, my amazing husband took the kids to Burlington for the entire day. He insisted that I stay behind this time & get some rest. I’m embarrassed to say that I barely moved from the couch. Desi-Lu is the worst influence a lazy person could ever be around. At least I did move more than she did. Lazy canine. She was the best company though… the quiet, cuddly, sleeping kind. The rest was much needed. I mourn the days of my first pregnancy… when I could sleep whenever my body called for it & the only person I had to look after was my husband. It’s hectic & exhausting being pregnant with 2 children under the age of 4 running around. shew. Never a dull moment.

Yesterday I realized that I am still having days of utter shock that we are really having our 3rd baby. I’m super excited, but for the first time, I see myself differently from what I imagined seeing myself at 27 years old. When we had Keely, I thought, “life is running right on schedule”…. when we had Cale, I thought, “life is running right on schedule”…. this time, I’m thinking, “wow. #3. so soon? really?!” That’s the thing about God though, He has a way of luring us into His plan & not our own. I’m so thrilled to be having a large family. I always wanted a larger family than what I was born into. I’m also proving to myself that I am a much stronger woman, that our marriage is extremely solid & blessed, & that I am a much more solid mother than I’ve given myself credit for in the past. I can’t wait to meet our new baby… to see the evidence of the love Brian & I share… & the love this family has for each other. Keely & Cale are so close, I am anxious to see how close they will all be with an even lesser age gap between them. & now, I really feel like our family will be complete without the dangling thought of, “are we REALLY complete with just 2 children?”.

2 Responses to “A Day Of Rest & Pensive Thought”

  1. bendecido1 November 25, 2008 at 9:39 pm #

    Congratulations on the baby! When are you due?

  2. vanessathompson November 29, 2008 at 1:47 am #

    I’m due May 5… my C-section is scheduled for April 21. Thanks for the congrats!

Leave a Reply

