A Balancing Act

22 Aug

My daughter. My thoughts are overwhelming at times on the things I want to teach her. The balance, the fine lines, the wisdom it takes to raise a same sex child is an artform. I have found that I’ve discovered so much about myself during the times I’m focused on what I want to teach my daughter. This blog isn’t about teaching her ABC’s or how to be a super Christian. It’s about teaching her how to be a woman someday. I look around & see so many broken women that have crossed my path. Even into adulthood, they still can’t seem to embrace who they are. I’m not oblivious to the fact that we ALL have issues & that we manifest them in different forms. I have issues that I deal with in a way that I’m sure lots of people could never understand or relate. Something that I have such a hard time being sympathetic to or understanding in women, is their inability to grasp who they are & have strength & confidence in what God created. He made each of us different… an original. Why do women have such tendencies to become so attached to people, that they become perfectly fine with losing who they are as an individual? Maybe it’s because they weren’t really sure if they wanted to be who they are to begin with. Sad. I have found that these women are more susceptible to making bad decisions for their own well-being as well as their mates, but they also are the ones that are least capable of having successful, HEALTHY relationships… whether it be with significant others or just friendships. They jump from one overly attached relationship to another. God created YOU before He created you&him. Maybe that was so that you have lots of years to learn to love yourself before you are to love another person “as yourself”. My issues fall on the other side of the spectrum. I’m almost never attached & that can obviously cause hardship & hard-hearted behavior. So where is the balance? How do I teach my daughter to love herself, to stay true to what God created? How do I teach her the strength to face the world with the ability to love in the midst of it?

I’m almost the opposite of the parent that wants their child to like the things they liked as a kid, or to grow up to be “this way”. Throughout her lifetime, as she grows, as she matures… I want Keely to slowly be embracing EVERYTHING that makes her, HER…. every odd behavior, every passion, every single piece of her. I want her to find strength in that confidence. I want her to know that God has called her for something great, even if it’s just a simple wife & mother, by embracing who she is & passing that on to her children, she’s changing the world… A world of posers, followers, insecure, “I’m not cool enough” people. I want my daughter to love the fact that she’s never gonna be anyone else. There’s so much I could say about this, so many questions I have…..

“Do not go where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path & leave a trail” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

2 Responses to “A Balancing Act”

  1. iheartkiserboston August 22, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    This is good. I love the quote at the end. I find it so hard not to make the boys into who I want them to be. Letting them find their own way and learn from their own mistakes is hard. It is a very delicate balance…teaching them right and wrong without completely affecting who they will become. I like this blog!

  2. Melodius Mel August 25, 2008 at 4:10 pm #

    WQW! You really should write a book. You are so good with putting your thoughts together. I love all your blogs but this one really hits hard. With a daughter almost 16 I have made so many mistakes. I know we as parents aren’t perfect but your words and the wisdom you have inside you, i would say you are off to a good start. Your daughter is lucky to have you!

Leave a Reply

