Are You There God?

29 Jul

The Lord has really been working in my life recently… “dealing” with me on some issues, revealing some life-changing things to me, & giving my soul some great peace in some areas that I needed.  There are times when God seems quiet & then suddenly He has so much to say. I used to think that He seemed distant when He was quiet, but I’m learning that it is me that creates the distance… He never left. I can’t explain why He is sometimes quiet, but I don’t feel the need to figure it out everytime anymore. Sometimes, I later understand, & sometimes I don’t. I try to use the former reason to explain the present quietness, but the truth is that, He probably has a whole new plan for this particular silence.

He’s really been drawing me in the last couple of weeks… “romancing” me as Staci Eldridge writes. I’ve been dealing with some questions that no one can seem to answer & I felt myself questioning God’s motives & His great plan. I know that it’s ok to be discouraged or confused as long as you come to God with those concerns & don’t let them turn to doubt. God impressed something major on my heart about the discouragements, trials, & tribulations of this world…

He is always luring us up toward Heaven… if everything were Heavenly here on earth (even for Christians), we wouldn’t long to be with Him in His perfect place. As blessed as this life may be, this place is not my home! I must always remember that!

He has also been reminding me of my commitment to Him & what that commitment means. Believing in Jesus Christ is the elementary level of Christianity… deciding to truly live for Him, center your heart toward Him in EVERYTHING you do, die to yourself & your fleshy tendencies a little more each morning, & follow the guidance of the Holy Spirit faithfully is not always easy, but it’s the REAL part of loving Him… it’s what separates the real Christians from the people who “think” they’re Christians (I know cause I used to be that person that truly thought I was a Christian). If we can make that decision to stay faithful to that surrender… He will move in our lives, He will reveal Himself & His greatness to us. & if we fall away, He’ll be there waiting for us to come back… because His love, mercy, glory, forgiveness, faithfulness, compassion, & tenderness is beyond what our hearts & minds can really wrap around. He loves us ALL the same, but it’s the people who fully surrender to Him that He reveals Himself to, that are able to really see Him with open eyes.

So even through times of discouragement… I must press on. continue to praise Him & worship Him even when He is quiet, even when I don’t understand. Keep in His presence & He will never fail me even when I fail Him. I have to let Him romance me & prove to me again & again that He is God of all creation. My heart depends on it… my eternity depends on it.

Sometimes we mistake God as being like man, the devil wants us to put Him on that same level, but He isn’t like man at all. He never makes mistakes. He never fails us. He is all knowing. HE IS GOD. 

Psalm 46:10 – “Be still & know that I am God”

3 Responses to “Are You There God?”

  1. makarios July 29, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    I’ve come to see those silent times as really really important. They are certainly not times to panic but to rest in the assurance that nothing has changed in God’s love for me. It’s a pause. It’s a rest. It’s a time of contemplation and knowing that He is God, a God of love and mercy and grace. May you enjoy Him forever and ever.

  2. B. July 30, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    You never cease to amaze me. It is amazing how God is working in you. It is so encouraging and exciting to me to watch you grow. I could never have imagined that God would bless me with such a beautiful, loving wife and mother to my children. You are truly a blessing and I thank God every day for blessing me with you. It is just another sign of His mercy and grace. Thank you for being my “Psalm 31 woman”…”Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.”(V.29)

  3. B. July 30, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    Ooops…I meant “Proverbs 31 woman” 🙂

Leave a Reply

