Mobility Is So Overrated

16 Jul

My son is officially ALL OVER THE FREAKIN’ PLACE!!!! I think I forgot this stage. You know… the exploratory stage… when you “redirect”, but they just go right back, or move on to the other 50 million places in the house that they aren’t supposed to be. If he isn’t slinging my books off of the bookshelf, he’s attacking the blinds, headed to the trash can in the bathroom (cause what’s in there is sooo interesting), or worse, sampling the dog food… giggling with excitement the whole time. It’s amusing, but exhausting at the same time. Teaching a baby that foreign word, “no”… goodtimes. I don’t really believe in “baby proofing”, because I want to teach my children that they aren’t allowed to touch everything. Other peoples houses aren’t baby proofed & I want my children to just know & understand that some things are off limits.

 I remembered the other day about a little table that was in our room in the apartment that we used to live in when Keely was first walking. She would walk over to that table & sling everything off. I bet I said “no” and redirected her for 2 months before she finally stopped being so curious about what was on that table. Point is… she learned. & I learned that one of the most important & effective tools to parenting is consistency… as annoying as it may be. So here I go again, “teaching”, “redirecting”, &… well… repeating myself & my actions… over & over & over.

2 Responses to “Mobility Is So Overrated”

  1. knucchi July 16, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    I SO feel your pain. It’s so frustrating and irritating to continue saying no – picking them up, moving them 5 feet and turning them in the other direction. I agree about teaching them limits. I’m just anxious for the day where the flashing computer button isn’t as interesting to him anymore…

  2. iheartkiserboston July 17, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    haha, you are so clever with words. YOu make me smile. I agree with you 100%…it took Boston about a month, but now he doesn’t touch my plants. This age is fun, but quite exhausting.

Leave a Reply

