The Confessional

4 Jul

My thoughts are so random.

 I was in some kind of half-way deep thought yesterday about motherhood. The world will never truly understand the unselfish, tiring, devotions, & demands of a good stay-at-home wife & mother. My job never ends… EVER!… just when I think I’m caught up… I realize that I’m not. *sigh* Of course, I wouldn’t trade it for the world, but man is the sacrifice more than you know until you’ve done it. It’s easy to loose sight of my own health, relaxation, interest, & “me” time. Feeling pulled in 2 different directions. Pastor Connie said, “feeling like everyone wants a piece of me, but there’s just not enough to go around sometimes”. At the Women’s Conference a few months ago, she talked about how women seem to be always chasing that season of life where it’s just calm. Not gonna happen. Just when you’re safe from the demands of a baby, comes the demands of a toddler, & then there are the activities & the changes from toddler – kid, then it’s the teen years *yikes*… now there’s a thought that scares the begeebers outta me. & then grandchildren & menopause (definitely not looking forward to that roller coaster) & nurturing the relationship with the man you produced these children with all the while. There’s just something to be said about women. We can endure to the fullest. We are wonderful creations of God built to handle anything… & handle it with grace & dignity. I am woman… hear me roar!

This whole impeaving thought lead to thoughts on my own parents & my own childhood. The things that I’ve thought in the past that my parents did/or handled wrong, aren’t as significant as before. I have infinite grace for my parents & their flaws. We’ve all got them… but even on the days when we feel like we don’t have an ounce left to give, we do… cause we’re parents & we are devoted to the most committed, dedicated, & unselfish relationship that we’ll likely ever have. & that’s for a lifetime. You never really stop being a parent. The bond between parent & child. Interesting. I only hope that at some point my children will have that same grace for Brian & I. To understand that, we did the very best we knew how & even when it wasn’t always the right thing, we did what we thought was truly in their best interest. Everything that we say & do isn’t neccessarily Gospel. We are human & we certainly don’t have all the answers, but we have love & love conquers all. It’s the numbero uno mandate in the Bible.

P.S. – grandma came & got Keely today. She’s gone until Sat. I’m really gonna miss her, but I know someone that’s gonna miss her even more….

I absolutely adore these 2 🙂

 

One Response to “The Confessional”

  1. Tabitha July 6, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    This is my absolute favorite post thus far. 🙂

    You are an awesome momma and wife!

Leave a Reply

