What It’s Really About

12 May

I was cleaning this morning & as I shuffled around downstairs, I was vaguely listening to the TV show, The View… lame I know. Anyway, they were mentioning that the lady who founded Mother’s Day was arrested at one point in time for making a huge scene about how commercialized the holiday has become. Apparently she founded the holiday to honor her mother who was an activist & was down right offended at what the holiday had turned into. It’s true isn’t it?… the holiday has become an event to be generic & excuse men from actually tapping into their creativity or finding REAL ways to show appreciation. There are lots of holidays that are dedicated to “gift giving”… birthdays, Valentines Day, etc. I don’t know about the rest of the mothers out there, but all I want on Mother’s Day is to truly know that I am appreciated & my hard work doesn’t go unnoticed. Of course, I’m not much on gift recieving anyway, but it seems that any man or child can go to the local mall & pick out something without a  thought induced or without even reflecting on what a mother really is & does.

I had no desire to go out to eat. I worked in a super busy restaurant for 6 years… & I know all about the 2 hour waits & the less than quality food you get on major holidays like Mother’s Day. No thanks. So we decided that we would enjoy a quiet meal after the kids were in bed. Brian cooked a wonderful meal for us (my husband is a great cook!). To my surprise, I came downstairs from putting the kiddies to bed to find my most favorite meal on the table… & surrounding me… were these….

There isn’t a gift in the world that could’ve shown his appreciation & love for me like the words that came straight from his heart. No pre-written card needed. He’s amazing!

A few years ago for Valentine’s Day, he practically blindfolded me & drove me to the airport without telling me where on earth we were going. I got on the plane & heard the captain announce that we were flying to NYC… my favorite place to visit. We went ice skating on Valentine’s night at Rockefeller Center. It was fabulous. We won’t be doing anything like that again for a while… kids can be such party poopers. haha. The point is that, it doesn’t matter how many years go by, how much money he has in his pocket to spend, or how big he did things the year before… he never ceases to dig into his heart & thoughts & reflect on what I mean to him & make sure he lets me know!

… & B did get me a gift, but it wasn’t the gift that warmed my heart & made me feel irreplacable!

3 Responses to “What It’s Really About”

  1. iheartkiserboston May 13, 2008 at 2:56 am #

    This is sweet. I am so glad to know you guys.

  2. jennifertobler May 13, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    as a kid it would always frustrate me when my mom would say things like “I dont want anything” when we would ask what to get her for holidays. but the older i get, the more i understand that, and you really nailed it in this post! its about appreciation, not price tag. thanks for helping me keep things in perspective!

  3. Jamie Tobler May 15, 2008 at 10:42 pm #

    WOW…I never knew.

Leave a Reply

