If You Can Keep Up….

20 Apr

My thoughts are a plenty at the moment… so try & keep up as I try to stay focused on one thing at a time before my mind races to another…

So I’ve always had these crazy daydreams of living in a previous era. Nothing like before the revolution of electricity or anything (don’t think I would’ve made it… happily anyway), but I definitely long for an earlier time… a more simple time. As a kid, I had my heart set on marrying a farmer & moving into the middle of nowhere. I don’t mind seclusion so much. I used to plan what animals I would raise… a few horses just for pleasure, a couple of cows, some chickens, etc. I still think about that… well, not the farmer husband, but the whole idea of a much more simple time. No impersonal emails to shoot back & forth… nope… just days of raising children in a big old house with acres of land. I can picture myself humming as I hang clothes on the line to dry in the sunshine & watching the kids play tag. I was soooo made for that!

Then sometimes I daydream of living in the 60’s through a major revolution. A time when the best way to describe people was “passionate”… whether it was for their religion or “free love”… they were passionate about what they followed. I don’t think that people possess that anymore. I look around & see a world of people that just go through the motions of everyday life. No one seems to be passionate about anything anymore. Sad.

I’m sure I’ll elaborate on those daydreams in blogs to come, but for now… onto something else…

Pastor S. taught on “Generational Thinking” tonight. Powerful! He taught us that God thinks generationally & so should we. We should be setting up our homes & our churches for inheritance (spiritual inheritance as well as financial). We should be cultivating ourselves to bring the next generation into the Kingdom of God. I realized that I’ve been guilty of thinking about the blessings of this particular lifetime & not far enough ahead to the lifetime of my children & grandchildren. I know without a doubt that the things that I do in my life will effect my children, but some of the things that he said made it settle in my soul a little more.

I just remembered today that B & I are about to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Of course, every year that this date approaches, my mind does a full recap of our time together… special! That process may get pretty lengthy once we hit year 30… or 40. That’s exhausting just thinking about. 

I wanted to jot down some pretty moving thoughts on music, lyrics, & poetry, but my eyes are heavy & I can’t wait to cuddle up with my most favorite man on earth!… so I’ll have to save it for another time. Goodnight world 🙂

 

 

One Response to “If You Can Keep Up….”

  1. iheartkiserboston April 20, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    This is random..but I do find myself daydreaming also of living in a different era…like what it would have been like to live in Charleston when it was Charles Towne. Back during the American Revolution. The power of creative minds!!

    By the way, can you tell me how to delete my myspace. I have an old email also. HELP!!

Leave a Reply

