The Devil Is At My Feet!

11 Apr

Yesterday the enemy was under full attack. I logged onto my wordpress page to discover that someone had left some pretty derogatory comments for me. The comments ranged from telling me that I didn’t need to produce children, to mocking Christianity & my faith, to telling me that I was poor. This went on until almost 3 in the afternoon. At the end of the day, this person had left THIRTEEN comments. Once they realized that I was not responding, they then moved on to attack me via my friends on my blogroll…. calling me a hypocrite, etc.

At the end of the day once everyone was in bed & the house was quiet, I took my Bible & went into my prayer closet to spend some time with God & ask him for direction & answer when things like this happen. As usual, I asked that as I read His Word, He would reveal to me what He wants me to know, pratice, & understand. What happened in my prayer time was so beautiful… I couldn’t help but share it with my friends & family.

I’m currently in the middle of 2 Corinthians… & as I opened my Bible to pick up where I left off the night before, this was the very first scripture…. “geniune; yet regarded as imposters; known, yet regarded as unknown; dying, and yet we live on; beaten, yet not killed; sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; poor, yet making many rich; having nothing, & yet possessing everything” – 2 Corinthians 6:8-10. I heard God whisper to me… “Now you see that I warned you of these things”. For one of the first times in my life, I truly heard God speak to me.

I stopped there & again asked for guidance & understanding as I read. I was still having feelings of unjustice & I didn’t know how to deal with that. God lead me to this scripture…. “God is just: He will pay back trouble to those who trouble you.” – 2 Thessalonians 1:6. Wow! I realized that there is no human justice that can even begin to compare to the justice of God! I was starting to feel much more at peace. So I pressed on, praying & reading, praying & reading. God revealed to me that it doesn’t matter what the world thinks of my relationship with Him. That is between Him & I… & as long as I reside in Him & He resides in me, that is the only person that I have to prove anything to. I know who I am in Christ… how liberating?!

As I was sitting there in the quiet allowing the Holy Spirit to move, …suddenly I remembered that just 2 days ago I was listening to my lastest “Joyce Meyer Cd of the Month Message”. You’ll never believe what the message was… “How the devil uses PEOPLE to attack” …could this prayer time seriously be this amazing!  God absolutely can see what is going to happen tomorrow. He gave me a message that gave me the knowledge & the tools to understand something that was going to happen to me personally in just a couple of days ahead.

Before I knew it, I had been sitting there with my Bible & God for close to an hour! Praise the Lord that he had given me the strength to turn the devil’s attack into an opportunity to be closer to Him! I closed my Bible feeling triumphant & “more than a conqueror”. My anger had turned into a sense of sadness. I realized that I have been so blessed with such an amazing life, & whoever this person is must be so miserable & lost to sit on a computer for hours & obsess over someones else’s life. God challenged me to pray for this person every single day. Luke 6:27-32 says, “But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. If someone strikes you on one cheek, turn to him the other also. If someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic. Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. Do to others as you would have them do to you. If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them.”

 Not only did the devil not break me, but his works backfired… big time!

5 Responses to “The Devil Is At My Feet!”

  1. ajones92 April 11, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    I loved what you had to say. I can not count how many times the Devil has tried to attack me or bring me down away from God through a personal illness or one with in my young son. Everyday I have to put on the full armor of God so i to can defend the Evil ways of the Devil and of this world, I find strength in knowing that I am not of this world ” If you belonged to the world it’s people would love you But you do not belong to the world I have choosen you to leave the world behind.” John 15:19

  2. rootsnwings April 11, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    wow! This is awesome. Something I needed to hear! Thank you for sharing it.

  3. seanspinks April 12, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    You go girl!!!

  4. Shannon Isley April 12, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Very scary. I hope it wasn’t someone you know. The Evil one is every where. Thank God that He has provided us with such a wonderful instruction manual on life – the Bible!

  5. Nikki April 15, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    As ususal, reading your stuff is so inspirational. I’m sorry you had such a bad experience but I’m thankful that God was able to turn it into a positive for you. Keep on walkin’ the walk Vanessa!

Leave a Reply

