A Kid Friendly Meal That The Whole Family Will Enjoy!

27 Mar

One of my favorite things about having a family is having people around to eat my food. I love to cook… & when it comes to my kitchen, there isn’t a microwave in use.

I thought I would share with the world one of my easier meals that Keely looooves to eat & to help out with. It’s a homemade version of the stuff kids love, but easy enough so that anyone can master it… with the help of the kids of course.

On the menu:

*Breaded Chicken Tenders

*Macaroni && Cheese

*Butter Beans (although most of the time I do broccoli… depending on what looks good & fresh at the grocery store or farmers market)

**NOTE** I hardly ever use measurements, I just “eyeball it” as my mother would say.

Chicken Tenders – I use 1 or 2 packs of boneless skinless chicken tenders, but you can adjust that to fit your family. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Melt about 2 Tbl. butter in a bowl. Finely crush 1 -2 sleeves of Ritz crackers into a separate bowl (Keely loves to help with this part). Add salt, pepper, & I add about a tsp or so of Italian seasoning, to taste. Dip each chicken strip in butter & then coat with ritz. Place in a casserole dish. Cook for about 30-35 min or until chicken is cooked through.

dsc04645.jpg

Macaroni & Cheese – Boil desired amount of macaroni noodles ( I couldn’t tell you how much. That’s something that I just eyeball). I like to use different pastas with fun shapes & fun colors for Keely. Grate sharp cheddar cheese into a bowl (you can use the pre-shredded bagged cheese, but I like to grate my own fresh). Once the macaroni is finished boiling, add cheese, butter, milk, salt & pepper to drained noodles (none of which I measure. I just add a little & taste).

dsc04632_edited-1.jpg

Butter Beans – Pour desired amount of butter beans into a pressure cooker. Add a small chunk of ham chips (I’m sure some of you are reading that like, huh?… it’s in your grocery store in the same section you find the dried pork products. don’t worry, you don’t eat this, but it gives vegetables a great flavor). Cover beans about an inch over with water. Tighten lid & cook on high until you hear the little rocker start to whistle. Cut heat back to med-high & cook for 20 min for frozen vegetables.

…. & viola!!

dsc04647_edited-1.jpg

3 Responses to “A Kid Friendly Meal That The Whole Family Will Enjoy!”

  1. Tabitha March 27, 2008 at 4:09 am #

    so yes, we should go to the farmers market together soon! I would LOVE that. I haven’t been this year yet.

    I pretty much have decided (if I can get all the stuff together) that I will be making this for the Mack-e-Moose tomorrow! I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. st. kelsie j. March 28, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    think that would taste good with tofu instead of chicken? and… soy cheese?

    *lettuce for life!

    by the way… whenever I see someone yawn I think of that cat picture… it makes me laugh.

  3. udecidetoday March 30, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    your making me hungry.

Leave a Reply

